PR Student Blogs: Good Idea or Not?

Does blogging help PR students with their job hunt?

A couple of weeks ago I posted up my blog post “Getting Started With Your PR Job Hunt” onto a LinkedIn group (#PRintern | #EntryPR) discussion board

It was a rough guide to starting a job hunt for PR students and involved steps such as:

  1. Start up your own blog
  2. Subscribe to other blogs
  3. Participate in conversations
  4. Internships

It turned out to be one of my most popular posts yet and there was a lot of discussion, particularly around the first step – starting a blog.

For some people, they didn’t think blogging was necessary for PR students and maintained that Twitter can get the job done, while others preferred having just a website where you can highlight your portfolio, professional accomplishments, without having the hassle of constantly updating it.

Upon reading the comments I found that there were a lot of great points raised such as the importance of Twitter conversations and blogging topics for PR students, but let me tell you why I’m so keen on PR student blogs.

For me personally, blogging has been the most beneficial step to my career so far.

It’s taught me:

  • how to strategically promote my blog posts through social media channels like LinkedIn, Twitter and StumbleUpon.
  • how to analyse search engine terms, referrers, subscriptions and website traffic.
  • how to manage my time because between managing a blog properly in between work and uni studies can be kind of hectic
  • how to adapt my writing to the online environment by using less words, smaller paragraphs and maintaining a conversational writing voice

But most importantly, blogging has put in touch with PR professionals like Roger Christie, Head of Digital at Sefiani Communications, who after a Q&A, arranged for an information interview to discuss my studies, career goals and internships.

So while blogging may not necessarily be essential for a PR student, I would definitely recommend it!

7 thoughts on “PR Student Blogs: Good Idea or Not?

  1. Hi Christopher,

    It’s great to hear that employers are looking at blogging when it comes to hiring. I’ve been working pretty hard on this blog with the very hope that it’ll land me a job!

    Thanks for commenting.

    Hao

  2. Hey Hao

    You illustrate a lot of great points. Applying what you learn in school is a great way to solidify your education. As an entrepreneur, I decided to take on a MBA program while managing a business. In my opinion, it was the best education I could have possibly received. Every now and then, you’ll find that what you learn in school doesn’t necessarily apply in reality. The challenge is to actually figure what works and what doesn’t.

    I’d encourage you to stay ambitious and to continually work on perfecting your trade. From an employer’s point of view, those traits certainly go along ways.

    • Hi Thom,

      Thanks so much for your comment.

      I’ve always felt the best way to learn about anything was to just go ahead and do it.

      After speaking to many PR professionals in the past year, I figured that what I’m learning about the communications industry in university isn’t very close to what’s happening in the real world.

      I guess that’s the reason I started up this blog; to develop online writing skills that’ll no doubt prove critical to my future career.

      Thanks again for the feedback.

      Cheers,

      Hao

  3. Pingback: Getting started with your WordPress site « That's SoMe Public Relations!

  4. I’m a touch late with this comment — but great list and comments.

    I see networking as a huge advantage. I don’t update my blog as often as I would like to, but it’s helped connect me with people. Your interview series (as you mentioned) is another one of those great networking opportunities.

    It doesn’t end with university either. I still look for opps to interview others and use my blog as a way to connect. It will follow you in your career, and getting started as a student gives you that much more of an advantage.

    Keep rocking it!

  5. I think blogs are a great idea for PR students. Besides the reasons stated in the post, students can build their writing skills, showcase their interests (your blog doesn’t have to be about PR!) and have a central “hub” that holds their resume, recommendations, interests and more!

Leave a Reply

